Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke

Andrew Maraniss

Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke

Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke

Andrew Maraniss
Kovakantinen
16,95 €
Saatavuus: Lähetetään 10-25 arkipäivässä, tilaustuote. Arvioitu toimituspäivä: 16.8.2021 - 1.9.2021
Toimituskulut alk 0 €

Myymäläsaatavuus

Tuotetiedot

  • Näytä kaikki
    • Kustantaja Philomel Books
    • ISBN 9780593116722
    • Tuotekoodi 9780593116722
    • Kirjoittajat Andrew Maraniss
    • Kieli Englanti
    • Ilmestymispäivä 02.03.2021
    • Ikäsuositus alkaen 13
    • Ikäsuositus päättyen 17
    • Luokka-aste 08 - 12
    • Sivumäärä 320
    • Asiasanat Asian American; Quizzes; Diseases - Immune & Autoimmune
    • Pituus (mm) 236.22
    • Leveys (mm) 149.86
    • Korkeus (mm) 35.56
    • Paino (g) 0.476

Tuotekuvaus

*[An] excellent exercise in narrative nonfiction. --Booklist (starred review)

From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a hidden figure in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown.

On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los Angeles Dodgers, made history without even swinging a bat. When his teammate Dusty Baker hit a historic home run, Glenn enthusiastically congratulated him with the first ever high five.

But Glenn also made history in another way--he was the first openly gay MLB player. While he did not come out publicly until after his playing days were over, Glenn's sexuality was known to his teammates, family, and friends. His MLB career would be cut short after only three years, but his legacy and impact on the athletic and LGBTQIA+ community would resonate for years to come.

New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss tells the story of Glenn Burke: from his childhood growing up in Oakland, his journey to the MLB and the World Series, the joy in discovering who he really was, to more difficult times: facing injury, addiction, and the AIDS epidemic.

Packed with black-and-white photographs and thoroughly researched, never-before-seen details about Glenn's life, Singled Out is the fascinating story of a trailblazer in sports--and the history and culture that shaped the world around him.

Praise for Singled Out

A compelling narrative . . . This is a meticulously researched history of the ways queer culture in the '70s intersected with baseball, Blackness, and larger culture wars, with one man at their center. --Kirkus Reviews

Tämä tuote kuuluu tuoteryhmiin

Myymäläsaatavuus

Tuotetiedot

  • Näytä kaikki
    • Kustantaja Philomel Books
    • ISBN 9780593116722
    • Tuotekoodi 9780593116722
    • Kirjoittajat Andrew Maraniss
    • Kieli Englanti
    • Ilmestymispäivä 02.03.2021
    • Ikäsuositus alkaen 13
    • Ikäsuositus päättyen 17
    • Luokka-aste 08 - 12
    • Sivumäärä 320
    • Asiasanat Asian American; Quizzes; Diseases - Immune & Autoimmune
    • Pituus (mm) 236.22
    • Leveys (mm) 149.86
    • Korkeus (mm) 35.56
    • Paino (g) 0.476

Tuotekuvaus

*[An] excellent exercise in narrative nonfiction. --Booklist (starred review)

From New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss comes the remarkable true story of Glenn Burke, a hidden figure in the history of sports: the inventor of the high five and the first openly gay MLB player. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown.

On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los Angeles Dodgers, made history without even swinging a bat. When his teammate Dusty Baker hit a historic home run, Glenn enthusiastically congratulated him with the first ever high five.

But Glenn also made history in another way--he was the first openly gay MLB player. While he did not come out publicly until after his playing days were over, Glenn's sexuality was known to his teammates, family, and friends. His MLB career would be cut short after only three years, but his legacy and impact on the athletic and LGBTQIA+ community would resonate for years to come.

New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss tells the story of Glenn Burke: from his childhood growing up in Oakland, his journey to the MLB and the World Series, the joy in discovering who he really was, to more difficult times: facing injury, addiction, and the AIDS epidemic.

Packed with black-and-white photographs and thoroughly researched, never-before-seen details about Glenn's life, Singled Out is the fascinating story of a trailblazer in sports--and the history and culture that shaped the world around him.

Praise for Singled Out

A compelling narrative . . . This is a meticulously researched history of the ways queer culture in the '70s intersected with baseball, Blackness, and larger culture wars, with one man at their center. --Kirkus Reviews

Tämä tuote kuuluu tuoteryhmiin

Yhteydenottolomake Oma Suomalainen -tili

Tähdellä merkityt kentät ovat pakollisia.

Hyväksyn, että tietoni tallennetaan viestintää varten. Lue lisää tietosuojaselosteesta.