Girl at the Back of the Bus: An absolutely heart-wrenching historical novel, The

Suzette D. Harrison

Girl at the Back of the Bus: An absolutely heart-wrenching historical novel, The

Girl at the Back of the Bus: An absolutely heart-wrenching historical novel, The

Suzette D. Harrison
Pehmeäkantinen
16,95 €
Saatavuus: Lähetetään 10-25 arkipäivässä, tilaustuote. Arvioitu toimituspäivä: 16.8.2021 - 1.9.2021
Toimituskulut alk 0 €

Myymäläsaatavuus

Tuotetiedot

  • Näytä kaikki
    • Kustantaja Bookouture
    • ISBN 9781800191747
    • Tuotekoodi 9781800191747
    • Kirjoittajat Suzette D. Harrison
    • Kieli Englanti
    • Ilmestymispäivä 08.02.2021
    • Genretunnus MU
    • Sivumäärä 314
    • Asiasanat African American - Women; Women; African American - Historical
    • Pituus (mm) 198.374
    • Leveys (mm) 128.524
    • Korkeus (mm) 17.78
    • Paino (g) 0.308

Tuotekuvaus

I watched in awe as Miz Rosa stopped those men on the bus with her clear, calm "no" and I thought about that word. What if I said no? What if I refused to follow the path these White folks wanted for us? What if I kept this precious baby?


Montgomery, Alabama, 1955

On a cold December evening, Mattie Banks packs a suitcase and leaves her family home. Sixteen years old and pregnant, she has already made the mistake that will ruin her life and disgrace her widowed mother. Boarding the 2857 bus, she sits with her case on her lap, hoping that the driver will take her away from disaster. Instead, Mattie witnesses an act of bravery by a woman named Rosa Parks that changes everything. But as Mattie strives to turn her life around, the dangers that first led her to run are never far away. Forging a new life in a harsh world at constant risk of exposure, Mattie will need to fight to keep her baby safe.


Atlanta, Georgia, present day

Ashlee Turner is going home. Her relationship in ruins, her career held back by prejudice, she is returning to the family who have always been her rock. But Ashlee's home is not the safe haven she remembers. Her beloved grandmother is dying and is determined to share her story before she leaves...


When Ashlee finds a stack of yellowing letters hidden in her nana's closet, she can't help the curiosity that compels her to read, and she uncovers an old secret that could wreak havoc on her already grieving family. As she tries to make sense of what she has learned, Ashlee faces a devastating choice: to protect her loved ones from the revelations, or honor her grandmother's wishes and follow the path to the truth, no matter where it may lead.


For readers of The Help, Orphan Train and Before We Were Yours comes a beautiful and heartbreaking novel about redemption, family secrets and the spirit of survival found at the hardest time.


Readers love The Girl at the Back of the Bus:


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "My, My, My and Wow, just Wow!!... What an excellent and amazing story!... From the first word until the last, I was so enthralled and riveted... Whew!!... Hallelujah!! This is an awesome book!! A definite must-read!!" Geri's Things


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "Where do I start? For the first time, I am left speechless after reading

Tämä tuote kuuluu tuoteryhmiin

Myymäläsaatavuus

Tuotetiedot

  • Näytä kaikki
    • Kustantaja Bookouture
    • ISBN 9781800191747
    • Tuotekoodi 9781800191747
    • Kirjoittajat Suzette D. Harrison
    • Kieli Englanti
    • Ilmestymispäivä 08.02.2021
    • Genretunnus MU
    • Sivumäärä 314
    • Asiasanat African American - Women; Women; African American - Historical
    • Pituus (mm) 198.374
    • Leveys (mm) 128.524
    • Korkeus (mm) 17.78
    • Paino (g) 0.308

Tuotekuvaus

I watched in awe as Miz Rosa stopped those men on the bus with her clear, calm "no" and I thought about that word. What if I said no? What if I refused to follow the path these White folks wanted for us? What if I kept this precious baby?


Montgomery, Alabama, 1955

On a cold December evening, Mattie Banks packs a suitcase and leaves her family home. Sixteen years old and pregnant, she has already made the mistake that will ruin her life and disgrace her widowed mother. Boarding the 2857 bus, she sits with her case on her lap, hoping that the driver will take her away from disaster. Instead, Mattie witnesses an act of bravery by a woman named Rosa Parks that changes everything. But as Mattie strives to turn her life around, the dangers that first led her to run are never far away. Forging a new life in a harsh world at constant risk of exposure, Mattie will need to fight to keep her baby safe.


Atlanta, Georgia, present day

Ashlee Turner is going home. Her relationship in ruins, her career held back by prejudice, she is returning to the family who have always been her rock. But Ashlee's home is not the safe haven she remembers. Her beloved grandmother is dying and is determined to share her story before she leaves...


When Ashlee finds a stack of yellowing letters hidden in her nana's closet, she can't help the curiosity that compels her to read, and she uncovers an old secret that could wreak havoc on her already grieving family. As she tries to make sense of what she has learned, Ashlee faces a devastating choice: to protect her loved ones from the revelations, or honor her grandmother's wishes and follow the path to the truth, no matter where it may lead.


For readers of The Help, Orphan Train and Before We Were Yours comes a beautiful and heartbreaking novel about redemption, family secrets and the spirit of survival found at the hardest time.


Readers love The Girl at the Back of the Bus:


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "My, My, My and Wow, just Wow!!... What an excellent and amazing story!... From the first word until the last, I was so enthralled and riveted... Whew!!... Hallelujah!! This is an awesome book!! A definite must-read!!" Geri's Things


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "Where do I start? For the first time, I am left speechless after reading

Tämä tuote kuuluu tuoteryhmiin

Yhteydenottolomake Oma Suomalainen -tili

Tähdellä merkityt kentät ovat pakollisia.

Hyväksyn, että tietoni tallennetaan viestintää varten. Lue lisää tietosuojaselosteesta.