Brood

Jackie Polzin

Brood

Brood

Jackie Polzin
Kovakantinen
20,95 €
Arvioitu toimituspäivä: 6.10.2021 - 22.10.2021
Toimituskulut alk 0 €

Myymäläsaatavuus

Tuotetiedot

  • Näytä kaikki
    • Kustantaja Doubleday Books
    • ISBN 9780385546751
    • Tuotekoodi 9780385546751
    • Kirjoittajat Jackie Polzin
    • Kieli Englanti
    • Ilmestymispäivä 09.03.2021
    • Genretunnus MU
    • Sivumäärä 240
    • Asiasanat Women; Animals; Family Life - General
    • Pituus (mm) 196.85
    • Leveys (mm) 133.35
    • Korkeus (mm) 25.4
    • Paino (g) 0.34

Tuotekuvaus

Longlisted for the Center for Fiction's 2021 First Novel Prize - An exquisite new literary voice--wryly funny, nakedly honest, beautifully observational, in the vein of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout--depicts one woman's attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss.

"Full of nuance and humor and strangeness...[Polzin] writes beautifully about everything." --The New York Times

Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.

Intimate and startlingly original, this slender novel is filled with wisdom, sorrow and joy. As the year unfolds, we come to know the small band of loved ones who comprise the narrator's circumscribed life at this moment. Her mother, a flinty former home-ec teacher who may have to take over the chickens; her best friend, a real estate agent with a burgeoning family of her own; and her husband whose own coping mechanisms for dealing with the miscarriage that haunts his wife are more than a little unfathomable to her.

A stunning and brilliantly insightful meditation on life and longing that will stand beside such modern classics as H is for Hawk and Gilead, Brood rewards its readers with the richness of reflection and unrelenting hope.

Tämä tuote kuuluu tuoteryhmiin

Myymäläsaatavuus

Tuotetiedot

  • Näytä kaikki
    • Kustantaja Doubleday Books
    • ISBN 9780385546751
    • Tuotekoodi 9780385546751
    • Kirjoittajat Jackie Polzin
    • Kieli Englanti
    • Ilmestymispäivä 09.03.2021
    • Genretunnus MU
    • Sivumäärä 240
    • Asiasanat Women; Animals; Family Life - General
    • Pituus (mm) 196.85
    • Leveys (mm) 133.35
    • Korkeus (mm) 25.4
    • Paino (g) 0.34

Tuotekuvaus

Longlisted for the Center for Fiction's 2021 First Novel Prize - An exquisite new literary voice--wryly funny, nakedly honest, beautifully observational, in the vein of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout--depicts one woman's attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss.

"Full of nuance and humor and strangeness...[Polzin] writes beautifully about everything." --The New York Times

Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.

Intimate and startlingly original, this slender novel is filled with wisdom, sorrow and joy. As the year unfolds, we come to know the small band of loved ones who comprise the narrator's circumscribed life at this moment. Her mother, a flinty former home-ec teacher who may have to take over the chickens; her best friend, a real estate agent with a burgeoning family of her own; and her husband whose own coping mechanisms for dealing with the miscarriage that haunts his wife are more than a little unfathomable to her.

A stunning and brilliantly insightful meditation on life and longing that will stand beside such modern classics as H is for Hawk and Gilead, Brood rewards its readers with the richness of reflection and unrelenting hope.

Tämä tuote kuuluu tuoteryhmiin

Yhteydenottolomake Oma Suomalainen -tili

Tähdellä merkityt kentät ovat pakollisia.

Hyväksyn, että tietoni tallennetaan viestintää varten. Lue lisää tietosuojaselosteesta.