97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement

Jane Ziegelman

97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement

97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement

Jane Ziegelman

This delicious saga of how immigrant food became American food follows European immigrants on a remarkable journey from the Ellis Island dining hall to tiny tenement kitchens, from Lower East Side pushcart markets and delicatessens out into the wider world of American cuisine. Lue lisää

Pehmeäkantinen
13,95 €
Arvioitu toimituspäivä: 11.10.2021 - 27.10.2021
Toimituskulut alk 0 €

Myymäläsaatavuus

Tuotetiedot

  • Näytä kaikki
    • Kustantaja Harper Paperbacks
    • ISBN 9780061288517
    • Tuotekoodi 9780061288517
    • Kirjoittajat Jane Ziegelman
    • Kieli Englanti
    • Ilmestymispäivä 31.05.2011
    • Sivumäärä 253
    • Asiasanat United States - State & Local - Middle Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, NJ, NY, PA); United States - 19th Century; Social History
    • Pituus (mm) 204.47
    • Leveys (mm) 135.382
    • Korkeus (mm) 17.018
    • Paino (g) 0.2

Tuotekuvaus

"Social history is, most elementally, food history. Jane Ziegelman had the great idea to zero in on one Lower East Side tenement building, and through it she has crafted a unique and aromatic narrative of New York's immigrant culture: with bread in the oven, steam rising from pots, and the family gathering round." -- Russell Shorto, author of The Island at the Center of the World

97 Orchard is a richly detailed investigation of the lives and culinary habits--shopping, cooking, and eating--of five families of various ethnicities living at the turn of the twentieth century in one tenement on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. With 40 recipes included, 97 Orchard is perfect for fans of Rachel Ray's Hometown Eats; anyone interested in the history of how immigrant food became American food; and "foodies" of every stripe.

Tämä tuote kuuluu tuoteryhmiin

This delicious saga of how immigrant food became American food follows European immigrants on a remarkable journey from the Ellis Island dining hall to tiny tenement kitchens, from Lower East Side pushcart markets and delicatessens out into the wider world of American cuisine. Lue lisää

Myymäläsaatavuus

Tuotetiedot

  • Näytä kaikki
    • Kustantaja Harper Paperbacks
    • ISBN 9780061288517
    • Tuotekoodi 9780061288517
    • Kirjoittajat Jane Ziegelman
    • Kieli Englanti
    • Ilmestymispäivä 31.05.2011
    • Sivumäärä 253
    • Asiasanat United States - State & Local - Middle Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, NJ, NY, PA); United States - 19th Century; Social History
    • Pituus (mm) 204.47
    • Leveys (mm) 135.382
    • Korkeus (mm) 17.018
    • Paino (g) 0.2

Tuotekuvaus

"Social history is, most elementally, food history. Jane Ziegelman had the great idea to zero in on one Lower East Side tenement building, and through it she has crafted a unique and aromatic narrative of New York's immigrant culture: with bread in the oven, steam rising from pots, and the family gathering round." -- Russell Shorto, author of The Island at the Center of the World

97 Orchard is a richly detailed investigation of the lives and culinary habits--shopping, cooking, and eating--of five families of various ethnicities living at the turn of the twentieth century in one tenement on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. With 40 recipes included, 97 Orchard is perfect for fans of Rachel Ray's Hometown Eats; anyone interested in the history of how immigrant food became American food; and "foodies" of every stripe.

Tämä tuote kuuluu tuoteryhmiin

Yhteydenottolomake Oma Suomalainen -tili

Tähdellä merkityt kentät ovat pakollisia.

Hyväksyn, että tietoni tallennetaan viestintää varten. Lue lisää tietosuojaselosteesta.